Kingdom of Morocco acceptance of termination of the London Act of The Hague Agreement

The Kingdom of Morocco deposited it’s instrument of acceptance of the termination of the London Act of the Hague Agreement with WIPO on 4 December 2012. Morocco still remains a member of the Hague Agreement concerning the International Deposit of Industrial Designs. The Hague Act (1960) entered into force in Morocco on 13 October 1999.

The Hague Agreement relates to the International Registration of Industrial Designs. It is also known as the Hague system whereby one may register an industrial design in many countries by means of a single design application. The Hague Agreement comprises a number of separate treaties including the London Act of 2 June 1934, the Hague Act of 28 November 1960, and the Geneva Act of 2 July 1999.

Presently, 13 African countries as well as the regional organization OAPI are contracting parties to the Hague Agreement. Accordingly, 23 African countries may be covered by a Hague design application.; namely: Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo, Côte d'Ivoire (Ivory Coast), Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Mali, Mauritania, Morocco, Namibia, Niger, Republic of Rwanda, Senegal, Togo, and Republic of Tunisia.

For Further information please contact:
Craig Kahn or Margaret Le Galle

Date published: 2013/01/04
Author: Craig Kahn

Tags: general ip news morocco london act of hague agreement