International Arrangements:

  • Paris Union (from 3 April 2005)
  • WIPO (from 3 April 2005)
  • PCT (from 3 April 2005)
  • OAPI (from 25 May 2013)


Currently, the member States of OAPI are: Benin, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Ivory Coast, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Senegal and Togo.

A single application automatically covers all member states and it is not possible to designate the countries of interest.

The Comoros comprise four main islands, namely, Njazidja (Grande Comore), Mwali (Moheli), Nzwani (Anjouan) and Mahore (Mayotte).

They were formerly deemed part of France. In 1975 thirty-three of the thirty-nine members of the French Chamber of Deputies voted unilaterally to declare the Comoros independent from France. Five Mahorais Deputies, however, vowed that Mayotte would remain French. In November 1975 the Comoros were admitted to the United Nations as a unified state comprising the whole of the archipelago but, following two referenda in Mayotte in 1976, that island became a French "collectivite territoriale" - that is to say a status between that of a departement and an overseas territory. Since that date, Mayotte has been represented in Paris by two representatives who participate fully in metropolitan French politics.

A French patent will provide patent protection in Mayotte. An OAPI patent will provide protection insofar as the remaining islands are concerned.

For more details see oapi